Thread: Buying new e-mount aps-c lenses from eBay?

Buying new e-mount aps-c lenses from eBay?

Hey Guys,
    I'm just getting into the market of interchangeable lenses and was wondering what the general thoughts were on buying new from eBay?

My first lens will be the SEL35F18 and I saw a really good deal here.

The price is lower than anywhere else, which naturally makes me skeptical. But the seller seems highly rated, and the product is brand new, so I'm confused. Am I just being paranoid and should I go ahead with this purchase?

Thanks for any advice!

-Emad

Hi Emad,

I bought brand new SELP18105G from eBay, from company in Japan. Lens works great. Price on eBay from that company was $452. Price on Amazon and elsewhere is $598. Big difference. Was delivered in 5 days. Just check for ratings.

Good luck.

Hardcore Member
    As long as you are completely comfortable with what ever price you pay being lost forever.

I am not a trusting eBay user. Been 'burnt' and I wouldn't recommend anyone use that site for anything.....ever! Lost $250.00 Lesson learned....

Scott (that's my opinion) B

I have also been screwed using Ebay, but that does not mean all sellers are bad I have had many great transactions using Ebay as well. The issue with "new gear" often times is it has no warranty and can be from other regions. This can cause features to not work on cameras or language issues for example.. Lenses you are more hoping it's perfect because returning is usually a nightmare if even possible....

Best of luck,
    Jay
    Jay - Comments, Questions, and Critiques always welcomed and encouraged!

Current Everyday Gear: Sony A7r, Sony A6400, Sony Nex-6, Sigma 56mm f/1.4 Lens, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 Lens, Sony E 18-55mm, Sony E 55-210mm OSS Lens, Sony E 16mm f/2.8 Pancake, Rainbow Imagining MC/MD Lens Adapter w/ Minolta MD 50mm f/1.4 PG Rokkor Lens