Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: I bought the wrong camera...NTSC to PAL...any fix?

  1. #1

    I bought the wrong camera...NTSC to PAL...any fix?

    Hi everybody,
    I'm new to the forum and I have a big, big, big problem. I wasn't aware of a6000 models so I bought a camera which I lately discovered to be a NTSC one...As yoo know better than me, I can't change from 60 to 50i/p via software...

    Given that I can return the camera, there is any hack or any firmware fix I can try to force the camera to PAL?

    BTW...this Sony choice is simply crazy...

    Thank you in advance for your help
    Nico

  2. #2
    I don't think there is a fix and sorry to here that. I know you can change regions, but that does not effect the video format on my cameras which are NTSC.

    Sorry if I'm wrong,

    Jay
    Jay - Comments, Questions, and Critiques always welcomed and encouraged!

    Current Everyday Gear: Sony A7r, Sony A6400, Sony Nex-6, Sigma 56mm f/1.4 Lens, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 Lens, Sony E 18-55mm, Sony E 55-210mm OSS Lens, Sony E 16mm f/2.8 Pancake, Rainbow Imagining MC/MD Lens Adapter w/ Minolta MD 50mm f/1.4 PG Rokkor Lens

  3. #3
    Couldn't you change your setting of the movie recording?
    Menu, (Setup), [PAL/NTSC Selector]

    If the memory card has been formatted for PAL or NTSC, you might need to reformat it.
    Amateur and unskilled photographer with a very small collection of gears.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by antony View Post
    Couldn't you change your setting of the movie recording?
    Menu, (Setup), [PAL/NTSC Selector]

    If the memory card has been formatted for PAL or NTSC, you might need to reformat it.
    I don't have that option on my A7r? Which camera are you using Antony? Thanks!

    Jay
    Jay - Comments, Questions, and Critiques always welcomed and encouraged!

    Current Everyday Gear: Sony A7r, Sony A6400, Sony Nex-6, Sigma 56mm f/1.4 Lens, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 Lens, Sony E 18-55mm, Sony E 55-210mm OSS Lens, Sony E 16mm f/2.8 Pancake, Rainbow Imagining MC/MD Lens Adapter w/ Minolta MD 50mm f/1.4 PG Rokkor Lens

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    I don't have that option on my A7r? Which camera are you using Antony? Thanks!

    Jay
    That was for a6000, isn't that what nico_nico has?

    For A7r, the setting is on
    Menu, (Setup), page 2, [PAL/NTSC Selector] (the last option of page 2)
    Amateur and unskilled photographer with a very small collection of gears.

  6. #6
    I can't seam to find the option on my camera, but did find this on the Sony Support Area Here: http://docs.esupport.sony.com/dvimag...ml?search=ntsc

    It seams to indicate in the note area that 50i cameras will only have the option? Mine all have 60i marks on the bottom.



    Jay
    Jay - Comments, Questions, and Critiques always welcomed and encouraged!

    Current Everyday Gear: Sony A7r, Sony A6400, Sony Nex-6, Sigma 56mm f/1.4 Lens, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 Lens, Sony E 18-55mm, Sony E 55-210mm OSS Lens, Sony E 16mm f/2.8 Pancake, Rainbow Imagining MC/MD Lens Adapter w/ Minolta MD 50mm f/1.4 PG Rokkor Lens

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Obelix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wi
    Posts
    1,539
    Couldn’t you save video as 50 or 25P in your video editing software?

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Obelix View Post
    Couldn’t you save video as 50 or 25P in your video editing software?
    Yeah that is a good call, but if you are trying to play on a TV or something it might be an issue? Not 100% Sure

    Jay
    Jay - Comments, Questions, and Critiques always welcomed and encouraged!

    Current Everyday Gear: Sony A7r, Sony A6400, Sony Nex-6, Sigma 56mm f/1.4 Lens, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 Lens, Sony E 18-55mm, Sony E 55-210mm OSS Lens, Sony E 16mm f/2.8 Pancake, Rainbow Imagining MC/MD Lens Adapter w/ Minolta MD 50mm f/1.4 PG Rokkor Lens

  9. #9
    Thank you for help...unfortunately the conversion from NTSC to PAL is lossy in term of colors...plus my company uses a sony base media management system which goes with 50i...

    Anyway...QUESTION...in the kindle book about the a6000 they suggest to use mp4. format...I switched the camera to mp4 instead od AVCHetc...and the range of choice is limited to two options...VGA or FULLHD...This means that the problem of PAL/NTSC is fixed in itself? I mean with this non Sony format?
    BTW Is there any consistent loss of quality from switching to MP4 rather than AVCHEtc...

    Anyway this Sony move is totally not understandable...every 200$ camera has this feature built in...not the a6000!!!

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by nico_nico View Post
    Given that I can return the camera, there is any hack or any firmware fix I can try to force the camera to PAL?
    I would suggest you return the camera, I would suggest you to return the camera so and make your life easier.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay View Post
    I can't seam to find the option on my camera, but did find this on the Sony Support Area Here: http://docs.esupport.sony.com/dvimag...ml?search=ntsc

    It seams to indicate in the note area that 50i cameras will only have the option? Mine all have 60i marks on the bottom.
    Sorry I missed out that regional part. Those options were definitely on my cameras. So in Nico's case, it would be easier to just return the camera and get one from the right region.

    Quote Originally Posted by nico_nico View Post
    Anyway...QUESTION...in the kindle book about the a6000 they suggest to use mp4. format...I switched the camera to mp4 instead od AVCHetc...and the range of choice is limited to two options...VGA or FULLHD...This means that the problem of PAL/NTSC is fixed in itself? I mean with this non Sony format?
    BTW Is there any consistent loss of quality from switching to MP4 rather than AVCHEtc...

    Anyway this Sony move is totally not understandable...every 200$ camera has this feature built in...not the a6000!!!
    Just curious, which Kindle book suggest you to use MP4 format?
    MP4 is easier and friendlier to handle than AVCHD. Generally speaking, AVCHD has better quality than MP4, and once imported to computer, you can convert and/or compress to MP4 (or other format) for distribution.
    Amateur and unskilled photographer with a very small collection of gears.

  11. #11
    The book I mentioned before is this one:

    http://www.amazon.it/Complete-Guide-...s=kindle+a6000

    Unfortunately I can't return the camera cause I bought it in the States and I'm now in Italy plus the sale representative told me that they never saw a 50 (PAL) model in his store...

  12. #12
    Sorry, I thought you said you "can" return it (in your first post).
    Quote Originally Posted by nico_nico View Post
    (…) I'm now in Italy plus the sale representative told me that they never saw a 50 (PAL) model in his store...
    I believe PAL is used in most European countries.

    For video that is intended for computer/web viewing, I do not believe PAL vs NTSC still matters that much.
    Amateur and unskilled photographer with a very small collection of gears.

  13. #13
    Hm. Sony A 6000 firmware version 1.20 you have a PAL/NTSC switch.
    "Change to NTSC? Reboots after the change is made. To record the media used in PAL, it is necessary to format. Save the image beforehand.
    This is in toolbox menu page two 5th line. That's all there is to it.

  14. #14
    Thanks for the info GBDZ! I was not aware of this and really appreciate you sharing.

    Jay


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Jay - Comments, Questions, and Critiques always welcomed and encouraged!

    Current Everyday Gear: Sony A7r, Sony A6400, Sony Nex-6, Sigma 56mm f/1.4 Lens, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 Lens, Sony E 18-55mm, Sony E 55-210mm OSS Lens, Sony E 16mm f/2.8 Pancake, Rainbow Imagining MC/MD Lens Adapter w/ Minolta MD 50mm f/1.4 PG Rokkor Lens

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Obelix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wi
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by _GBDZ View Post
    Hm. Sony A 6000 firmware version 1.20 you have a PAL/NTSC switch.
    "Change to NTSC? Reboots after the change is made. To record the media used in PAL, it is necessary to format. Save the image beforehand.
    This is in toolbox menu page two 5th line. That's all there is to it.
    I didn't update to V 1.2 so I can't check this.
    Is this on US model camera? This option was always there for non US cameras.

  16. #16
    The camera is made in Thailand. I had the menus in French but I switched to English. It is from a dealer in Hong Kong. There is nothing on it that would make it either European or American model. I can set all geographical parameters as I wish. Is there a dumbed-down version for the Americans?

  17. #17
    Super Moderator Obelix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wi
    Posts
    1,539
    Is there a dumbed-down version for the Americans?
    I hope this is just poorly written sentence, and not snarky comment about Americans.

    All A6000 are made in Thailand. Models for American market don't have those options, if you look to the right of "Made in Thailand" cameras are marked as 60i (US market) or 50i rest of the world. This is done by Sony to protect their other markets, because cameras are cheaper in US. Just like in this case, where he wanted to avoid VAT, and ended up with cheaper US model.
    Last edited by Obelix; May 21 2015 at 06:36 PM.

  18. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by Obelix View Post
    I hope this is just poorly written sentence, and not snarky comment about Americans.

    All A6000 are made in Thailand. Models for American market don't have those options, if you look to the right of "Made in Thailand" cameras are marked as 60i (US market) or 50i rest of the world. This is done by Sony to protect their other markets, because cameras are cheaper in US. Just like in this case, where he wanted to avoid VAT, and ended up with cheaper US model.
    I read that and figured it was poor choice of words. Rather than dumbed down, it's essentially a "hobbled" version. As Obelix points out, it's about sales. Really, in this day and age, there is no reason to produce a camera or other electronic product with software for just one market - except to gouge the consumer. This is not an American thing - unfortunately we're all victims of this marketing mentality.
    Willie

  19. #19
    That makes perfect sense Obelix and this is a great reason as to why knowing specif model numbers is critical when buying cameras for less money than they normally would be. Thank you for the information!

    I don't think GBDZ's comment was meant in any negative way. My mind processed it only as a "stripped down model" meaning Nothing indicating otherwise based on the context being the camera itself.....

    Jay
    Jay - Comments, Questions, and Critiques always welcomed and encouraged!

    Current Everyday Gear: Sony A7r, Sony A6400, Sony Nex-6, Sigma 56mm f/1.4 Lens, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 Lens, Sony E 18-55mm, Sony E 55-210mm OSS Lens, Sony E 16mm f/2.8 Pancake, Rainbow Imagining MC/MD Lens Adapter w/ Minolta MD 50mm f/1.4 PG Rokkor Lens

  20. #20
    Hardcore Member Tikcus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Sunderland, England
    Posts
    263
    This is not limited to cameras or just American equipment

    Loads of equipment is limited by software/firmware for 3 main reasons

    1. Protect profit margins in certain regions (preventing cheaper imports)
    2. To comply with any local trade/sales laws (Government interference)
    3. To reduce regional technical support costs.

    Section 3 is not done to offend an area intelligence, and for specialised gear is probably not needed.

    For the actual problem, I know with computer equipment there is always ways and means to overwriting the firmware (at the risk of breaking the equipment), to bypass the problem, this was commonly done with computer GPU's to make the PC card work on an Apple computer and avoid having to buy the apple version, which was exactly the same but twice the price. I'd be surprised if there is not ways and means to do the same thing on cameras.

    Failing that (or if you don't want to risk breaking the camera) sell it on eBay then buy the correct version
    Last edited by Tikcus; May 24 2015 at 08:48 AM.
    I used to own stuff

  21. #21
    Good points Tikcus.
    Amateur and unskilled photographer with a very small collection of gears.

  22. #22
    It is amazing that Sony actually makes a hardware-protected NTSC version of the A6000 for the American market.
    Most (Asian-made) TV:s and media players sold in Europe have a switch to change the systems. It never occurred to me to connect the camera to the TV when I can play all the content wirelessly from my Mac to my Sony TV, either through MacTV or AirBird or some quirky Sony software also. But now I know that they even make a remote control for the camera for use in connection with the TV. Exactly what we need, another remote control.

    As an expat I have been facing these various zones and market barriers more than once in my life. I hate them. The only reason I actually hack DVDs to my HD is because it is forbidden. Now look here: I buy a DVD and according to the way the big mammoths of the media industry I cannot enjoy the content on my phone or iPad or whatever media I want to! I do understand that I cannot start broadcasting their intellectual property but now they say that even breaking the 'security code' is illegal. So sue me.

    There are others who think like me, otherwise there would not be all those briliant hack and crack softwares available.

    And yes, I think the term 'dumbed down version' is exactly what the .61 or whatever model sold exclusively in the US represents.
    The camera is a dumbed down version. This procedure has no effect on its users. Shouldn't that be clear?
    Is somebody's patriotic feelings were offended, sorry about that. Honestly, the reaction here sort of took me by surprise.

    Whatever, my affair with Sony A6000 is coming to an end. My Sony telephone is currently in repair. My Sony Bravia is OK now once it got connected to MacTV.
    Samsung is going to eat Sony alive...nom nom nom!
    Last edited by _GBDZ; May 25 2015 at 03:22 PM. Reason: tpyos

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •